Sequel to the approval for employment of teachers into public Senior Secondary Schools by the Government of Bayelsa State, the Executive Chairman of the Post-Primary Schools, High Chief Millionaire Asangba, has approved the constitution of an Seven-member committee to commence official procedures to that effect.
They are: Hon. Robert Nanakumo – Chairman; Mrs Rosa Koroye – Secretary; Chief Elder Tonwei Bazigha and Hon. Egbe Fiyesinkumo as members.
Other members are: Hon. David Idibiye: Chief Saviour Ibegi; and Hon. Deo Kalsuo.

The appointment of the PPSB Teachers’ Employment Committee is with immediate effect.

Also, the board wishes to dissociate itself from a letter nominating one of the board members of the post primary schools board (PPSB), Elder Bazigha Tanwei, as a committee member on transfer of principals in Model Schools, purportedly set up by the Ministry of Education, and signed by the Permanent Secretary, Christopher Ewhrudjakpo.

We wish to state equivocally that the LAW establishing the Bayelsa State Senior Secondary Schools Board (2009) vested the powers of recruitment, promotions and transfer of teachers and principals on the PPSB and NOT on the Ministry of Education, the commissioner nor the permanent secretary. Therefore, the board wishes to dissociate itself and any of its proxies from that committee as the functions they have ascribed to themselves are ultra vires, illegal, null and void.

The Law governing the BAYELSA STATE SENIOR SECONDARY SCHOOLS BOARD (2009), Part Two, Section 7, sub-section (1)a,: ”the recruitment. appointment, posting, promotions, discipline, and transfer of both the academic and non-academic staff of Government-owned Senior institutions.”

Therefore, the public are advised to take note as the employment processes already initiated by the PPSB still stands.

Media, Public Affairs and Welfare Department
Post-Primary Schools Board, Bayelsa State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *